First run in 1984, The Breeders' Cup are a series of races which are intended to serve as championship races for their respective divisions. Originally the Breeders' Cup consisted of seven races, but now comprises fourteen run over two days. The 2014 Breeders' Cup will be run on October 31st and November 1st at Santa Anita.

Breeders' Cup Classic - $5M 1-1/4 for 3-year-olds and up

The Breeders' Cup Classic is the premiere race of the Breeders' Cup event, and often is crucial in deciding Horse of the Year honors. Tiznow is the only horse to win the race on multiple occasions - in 2000 and 2001. Zenyatta became the first female to win the race with her victory in 2009. Chris McCarron and Jerry Bailey each have won the race five times, and trainers Charlie Whittingham and Jay Robbins have won it twice.