The Breeders' Cup

NEW PLAYERS Bet the Breeders’ Cup online & legally with TVG. Sign-up today and we’ll double your first deposit, instantly.

The Breeders' Cup World Championship’s culminates the racing season in November. It is the final time these magnificent thoroughbreds have an opportunity to raise their hooves and be counted as the champion of their divisions.

We will be lucky enough to see the fastest sprinters, most promising two year olds and European horses all battle against each other for huge prize money. This eclectic mix of excitement leads us to two of the greatest days in sport. The two-day event will cease with what many argue to be the world’s greatest race. The $6 Million Breeders' Cup Classic. The victor will bring home the substantial check of $3.3 Million and can call themselves the best of the best.

Over the two days of the 3rd and 4th of November, the richest two days in sport will commence, with $28 million to be won over the weekend. The Breeders' Cup has everything a sports fan could want. From scintillating hard fought finishes to the crowning of true Champions. The Breeders' Cup is here to create Champions that will be talked about for years to come.

One of the many great aspects to the Breeders' Cup is that it moves to a different North America racetrack every year. This offers the opportunity for the many thousands of horse racing fans to see their favourite horses race in one of the most prestigious race meets of the year. The 2017 event will be held at the beautiful Del Mar Thoroughbred Club in San Diego. Del Mar will be staging the event for the first time in its history. All the major tracks in North America compete to be awarded the honour of hosting this prestigious event every year.

There are 13 races over the weekend with 4 races on Friday the 3rd of November where the highlight is the Longines Distaff. This race will bring together the best fillies and mares who compete on dirt for a championship showdown over 1 1/8 miles. There is a direct link between this race and which horse is crowned the champion Filly or Mare at the end of season awards.

Every sport has a major year ending event that will truly crown a champion for the year just gone by. From the Super Bowl, to the NBA Playoffs, to the World Series a champion must be born. The culmination of the season in Horse Racing ends with the Breeders' Cup Classic on Saturday the 4th of November. This year’s true champion will be crowned in Del Mar on this day. Can Arrogate retain his crown? Time will tell. The Classic is truly the defining horse race at the end of the International racing season. It is run over 1 ¼ miles on the dirt and draws the top international thoroughbreds every year. There is always an international flair to the Breeders' Cup. The European contingent is often led by Aidan O’Brien. This year O’Brien could be in line to break Bobby Frankel’s record of 26 Grade 1 wins in a calendar year. He will be looking to complete this at the Breeders' Cup at Del Mar which would be a momentous feat for the all-conquering Irish trainer.

Year after year trainers across Europe have brought over some true champions to battle against the North American trained thoroughbreds. It is hard to forget the French trained colt Arazi’s back stretch move in the Breeders' Cup Juvenile or Goldikova’s three Breeders' Cup mile victories, an achievement that will more than likely never be eclipsed. The French also provided the biggest upset in Breeders' Cup history with the Monsieur Fabre trained colt, Arcangues won the 1993 Classic paying a whopping $269.20.

Since its inception in 1984 the Breeders' Cup has firmly established its place in the thoroughbred racing calendar alongside races such as the Kentucky Derby, Belmont Stakes, Preakness Stakes, and Pegasus World Cup. Attracting the best international horses from across the globe to battle for the end of season World Championships.

How to Bet the Breeders' Cup

Whenever the best thoroughbreds around the world come together to compete in the Breeders' Cup World Championships it’s offers an opportunity for the betting public to study the form and be in with a chance of landing a winning bet. The best way to do that is on

Explore the Breeders' Cup

There are many stories and history that are prevalent at the Breeders' Cup this year. has provided a list of many of the ingredients you need for this year’s Breeders' Cup below.



Take TVG with you
Take PABets with you
Take 4NJBets with you
Apple Store Apple Store Apple Store
Android Android Android
Scroll To Top