Preakness Stakes Past Results and Past Winners

NEW PLAYERS Bet the Triple Crown online & legally with TVG. Sign up now and don't miss our amazing offer for new customers!


As a Triple Crown race, the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico, Maryland, is one of the top horse racing events in the States.

While it’s usually the middle leg of the series, the Preakness is famous for building the excitement when a Kentucky Derby winner comes to town, looking to become the latest Triple Crown champion.

results of Preakness winner, little current and silver charm

Preakness Stakes Winners

This race has had some tremendous winners. The likes of Seattle Slew, Affirmed, American Pharoah, Justify, and the great Secretariat all took this race before going on to Triple Crown glory at Belmont, while others were winning their own private battles.

The public loves to see horses winning a duel, and Pimlico has been the scene of many. Nobody will forget 2016, when Nyquist took the Kentucky Derby ahead of Exaggerator, only for his rival to gain revenge and turn the tables on a very wet Maryland day.

In an ordinary year, the Preakness Stakes is all about keeping the dream alive. Having already taken down the Derby, superstars Big Brown, I’ll Have Another, and California Chrome all came to Pimlico and won the Preakness to set up their tilt at the Triple Crown in New York.

They all failed, but they still went down in history as some of the greatest winners of this event, and let’s not forget the most recent victor, War of Will, in the Preakness Stakes 2019.

Do Secretariat’s Bold Records Still Stand?

Triple Crown hero Secretariat rightly still goes down as one of, if not the greatest thoroughbred of all time. Indeed, the fastest Preakness Stakes in history is still the one won by this horse in 1973.

Secretariat’s Preakness results and winning time of 1:53 will take some time to beat, that’s for sure, with his incredible 31-length victory as impressive on the eye as it was on the clock.

Every Preakness Stakes Winner Since 1980

Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2019 War of Will Tyler Gaffalione Mark Casse
2018  Justify  Mike Smith Bob Baffert
2017 Cloud Computing Javier Castellano Chad C. Brown
2016  Exaggerator Kent J. Desormeaux J. Keith Desormeaux
2015 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert
2014  California Chrome Victor Espinoza Art Sherman
2013 Oxbow Gary L. Stevens D. Wayne Lukas
2012 I’ll Have Another Mario Gutierrez Doug F. O’Neill
2011 Shackleford  Jesus Lopez Castanon Dale L. Romans
2010 Lookin At Lucky Martin Garcia Bob Baffert
2009 Rachel Alexandra Calvin H. Borel  Steven M. Asmussen
2008 Big Brown Kent J. Desormeaux Richard E. Dutrow, Jr.
2007 Curlin  Robby Albarado Steven M. Asmussen
2006 Bernardini Javier Castellano Thomas Albertrani
2005 Afleet Alex Jeremy Rose Timothy F. Ritchey
2004 Smarty Jones Stewart Elliott John C. Servis
2003 Funny Cide  Jose A. Santos Barclay Tagg
2002 War Emblem Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert
2001 Point Given Gary L. Stevens Bob Baffert
2000 Red Bullet Jerry D. Bailey Joseph S. Orseno
1999  Charismatic  Chris W. Antley D. Wayne Lukas
1998  Real Quiet Kent J. Desormeaux Bob Baffert
1997  Silver Charm Gary L. Stevens Bob Baffert
1996  Louis Quatorze Pat Day Nicholas P. Zito
1995  Timber Country Pat Day D. Wayne Lukas
1994  Tabasco Cat  Pat Day D. Wayne Lukas
1993  Prairie Bayou  Mike E. Smith  Thomas K. Bohannan
1992  Pine Bluff Chris J. McCarron Thomas K. Bohannan
1991  Hansel  Jerry D. Bailey Frank L. Brothers
1990  Summer Squall  Pat Day Neil J. Howard
1989  Sunday Silence Patrick A. Valenzuela Charles E. Whittingham
1988  Risen Star Eddie J. Delahoussaye Louie J. Roussel, III
1987 Alysheba Chris J. McCarron Jack C. Van Berg
1986 Snow Chief  Alex O. Solis Melvin F. Stute
1985  Tank’s Prospect Pat Day D. Wayne Lukas
1984  Gate Dancer Angel Cordero, Jr. Jack C. Van Berg
1983  Deputed Testamony Donald Andrew Miller, Jr. J. William Boniface
1982  Aloma’s Ruler Jack Leroy Kaenel John J. Lenzini, Jr
1981  Pleasant Colony Jorge Velazquez  John P. Campo
1980  Codex  Angel Cordero, Jr. D. Wayne Lukas

How Many Fillies Have Won the Preakness?

t’s a fairly rare event for a filly to even participate in the Preakness Stakes, a race known for colts. However, five fillies have indeed won the Preakness over the years, with Rachel Alexandra being the most recent.

Steve Asmussen’s filly took the race in 2009, but since then, most of the best fillies have been kept to racing among their own sex at the top level.

canonero II, afleet alexa and spectacular bid

What Are the Top 3 Horse Races?

For many, the Breeders' Cup Classic is the number-one horse race in the country, and for some, it overtakes the Triple Crown races, perhaps even the Preakness Stakes.

The sophomore generation, however, is perennial, which is important for the sport and for horse breeding purposes, which is why the Triple Crown remains the pinnacle.

With that in mind, the Kentucky Derby, the Belmont Stakes, and of course, the Preakness remain for most horsemen the three most important races in the States.

Featured TVG Promotions


TVG provides free information, odds, facts, and commentary about the Preakness Stakes and horse racing and betting, in general. Third-party marks may be referenced in a transformative, editorial, informational, nominative, critical, analytical, or comparative context. TVG may reference marks belonging to third parties pursuant to our right to engage in fair use, fair comment, statutory fair use, or trademark fair use doctrine. As such, TVG does not contribute to any dilution of any trade or service marks.



Take TVG with you
Take PABets with you
Take 4NJBets with you
Apple Store Apple Store Apple Store
Android Android Android
Scroll To Top